Bees - the co-users of our sites

Bee colonies have been housed on our sites since October 2015 and are looked after by local beekeepers.

Engagement and environmental protection

Bees are now an endangered species, even though these black and yellow insects are hugely important to the economy. As well as producing honey, bees play an important role in pollinating plants and therefore in fruit production. At our many sites across the urban area, we offer bee colonies a safe habitat and honour our commitment to environmental protection.

Bees in an urban setting

At first glance our sites might appear inappropriate for the small insects, but they're actually highly suitable for bee-keeping. There are plenty of green spaces and bodies of water near the selected sites, which provide the insects with enough food and pesticide-free natural areas. Urban bees are now common. In Berlin there are currently around 1200 beekeepers working with around 4000 bee colonies.

Benefits for all

Housing bee colonies on our sites is a win-win situation for all. The bees benefit from their new and largely undisturbed habitat and the beekeepers have found a safe location for their bee colonies. As well as the environmental benefits of sharing our sites with bees, the honey produced promotes our economic and local commitment to Berlin. Each colony produces around 30 kg of honey each year.

Our bee locations

District

Street

Number of bee colonies

Location

Tempelhof-Schöneberg

Lichtenrader Damm

7

October 2015

Pankow

Am Steinberg

 20

October 2015

Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf Waghäuseler Str.

6

April 2016
Treptow-Köpenick Puschkinallee

20

April 2016
Neukölln Minzeweg

7

April 2016
Treptow-Köpenick Michael-Brückner-Str.

18

April 2016

Bienen – Zusätzliche Nutzer unserer Standorte

Seit Oktober 2015 sind auf einigen unserer Grundstücke Bienenvölker angesiedelt und werden von regional ansässigen Imkern betreut.

Engagement und Umweltschutz

Bienen sind zu einer bedrohten Tierart geworden, obwohl die schwarz-gelben Insekten ein enorm wichtiger Wirtschaftsfaktor sind. Bienen sind neben der Honigproduktion insbesondere für die Bestäubung von Pflanzen und damit für das Entstehen von Früchten wichtig. Mit unseren vielen Standorten im ganzen Stadtgebiet bieten wir Bienenvölkern einen sicheren Lebensraum und engagieren uns für den Umweltschutz.

Bienen im städtischem Milieu

Auf den ersten Blick erscheinen unsere Grundstücke unpassend für die kleinen Insekten, doch tatsächlich sind sie bestens geeignet für die Bienenhaltung. Rund um die ausgewählten Standorte gibt es viele Grünflächen und Gewässer, die den Insekten genügend Nahrung und Naturflächen frei von Pestiziden bieten. Stadtbienen sind mittlerweile weit verbreitet. In Berlin sind mittlerweile ca. 1.200 Imker mit rund 4.000 Bienenvölkern aktiv.

Vorteile für alle

Die Ansiedlung von Bienenvölkern auf unseren Grundstücken ist eine Win-Win-Situation für alle Beteiligten. Die Bienen profitieren von ihrem neuen und weitestgehend ungestörtem Zuhause und die Imker haben einen sicheren Standort für ihre Bienenvölker gefunden. Neben der umweltgerechten Mitnutzung unserer Grundstücke durch die Bienen steht uns der produzierte Honig für unser gesellschaftliches und Berliner Engagement zur Verfügung. Je Bienenvolk sind das ca. 30 kg Honig pro Jahr.

Unsere Bienen-Standorte

Bezirk

Straße

Anzahl Bienenvölker

Ansiedlung

Tempelhof-Schöneberg

Lichtenrader Damm

7

Oktober 2015

Pankow

Am Steinberg

 20

Oktober 2015

Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf Waghäuseler Str.

6

April 2016
Treptow-Köpenick Puschkinallee

20

April 2016
Neukölln Minzeweg

7

April 2016
Treptow-Köpenick Michael-Brückner-Str.

18

April 2016

Zusätzliche Quartiere für Bienenvölker stellen wir in 2016 und den Folgejahre im gesamten Stadtgebiet bereit.