Customer survey
"Successful energy saving"

Since 2010, we have noticed that the annual overall energy consumption in Berlin's households and businesses is continually decreasing. We are currently investigating this trend to find out which factors have the strongest influence on energy consumption in a household. For us, the results are important in helping us to prepare the energy grid for the amounts of electricity to be delivered in the future.

Energy consumption in Berlin
Declining overall consumption from household and smaller business customers

Survey of 30,000 Berlin residents

To this end, in September 2015 we wrote to around 30,000 household customers in Berlin to ask them about the main factors impacting their energy consumption. The results are currently being evaluated with expert assistance.

The questions were conceived in order to let us draw conclusions about the general behaviour of all household customers. The survey is anonymous, with strict regard for data protection.

Reasons for declining consumption

The decrease in energy consumption is supported by simple measures like households swapping lightbulbs for LED light and exchanging energy-guzzling household devices for new and energy-efficient household devices.

We want to use the survey as a scientific way to identify other factors which are influencing the decline. We will shortly be publishing the successful energy-saving tips on this page, to give all Berlin residents access to the best tips.

The project is a collaboration between Berlin Technical University and the German Energy Agency (dena).

Technical University Berlin
Germany Energy Agency (dena)

Donation as recognition

As a small thanks for the effort put in by participants in the study, we will be donating EUR 1 to the "City trees for Berlin" campaign for every questionnaire completed.

Kundenbefragung
"Erfolgreiches Stromsparen"

Seit 2010 stellen wir fest, dass der jährliche Gesamt-Stromverbrauch der Berliner Haushalte und Gewerbe kontinuierlich sinkt. Diesen Trend lassen wir aktuell untersuchen, um zu erfahren welche Faktoren den stärksten Einfluss auf den Stromverbrauch im Haushalt haben. Für uns sind die Ergebnisse wichtig, um das Stromnetz auf die zukünftige zu liefernde Strommengen vorzubereiten.

Stromverbrauch in Berlin
Sinkender Gesamtverbrauch der Haushalts- und kleineren Gewerbekunden

Befragung von 30.000 Berlinerinnen und Berlinern

Zu diesem Zweck haben wir im September 2015 rund 30.000 Haushaltskunden in Berlin angeschrieben und nach den stärksten Einflussfaktoren auf ihren Stromverbrauch befragt. Derzeit werden die Ergebnisse mit wissenschaftlicher Unterstützung ausgewertet.

Die Fragen wurden so konzipiert, dass wir daraus Rückschlüsse auf das Gesamtverhalten aller Haushaltskunden schließen können. Die Befragung erfolgt anonym und unter strenger Beachtung des Datenschutzes.

Gründe für den sinkenden Verbrauch

Gerade der Tausch in den Haushalten von Glühlampen zu LED Licht und der Austausch von alten energiefressenden Haushaltsgeräten hin zu neuen und energieeffizienten Haushaltsgeräten unterstützen den Rückgang des Stromverbrauchs.

Weitere Faktoren, die den Rückgang mit beeinflussen möchten wir mit der Befragung wissenschaftlich abgesichert herausfinden. Die erfolgreichen Stromspartipps werden wir in Kürze an dieser Stelle veröffentlichen, um allen Berlinern Zugang zu den besten Tipps zu ermöglichen.

Das Projekt ist eine Kooperation mit der Technischen Universität (TU) Berlin und der Deutsche Energie-Agentur (dena).

TU Berlin
Deutsche Energie-Agentur (dena)

Spende als Anerkennung

Als kleine Anerkennung für die Mühe der Studienteilnehmer spenden wir außerdem für jeden zurückgesendeten Fragebogen 1 Euro für die Kampagne „Stadtbäume für Berlin“.