Partnerships for
Smart City Berlin

Berlin is en route to becoming one of the leading "smart city" metropolises. The transformation process has already begun in all areas of urban life. It will continue to expand and accelerate.

Stromnetz Berlin is supporting the region and its inhabitants along this path in a variety of ways, to help it achieve ambitious goals such as a carbon-neutral Berlin and sustainable improvement of the quality of life for all citizens. The "smart city" requires openness, participation and connectivity. Intelligent infrastructure, particularly the smart electricity grid, will form the technological foundation for this - as a connected operating system, it will become the backbone and catalyst for the energy transition.

Technologies for the future

Modern management mechanisms like StromPager, developed in collaboration with regional partners, are preparing the way for the "smart city". The StromPager app provides a smart control solution for load and generation management. The standard is public and accessible free of charge (open source). It will help to implement the technical side of business models from a huge variety of stakeholders, e.g. efficient management of heat pumps, depending on the availability of renewable energy. This recently-developed solution is unique in the sector and is a trailblazer in the area of radio-based control technology. This is why, in December 2014, the technology was awarded the Berlin Brandenburg prize for innovation.

We are taking a pioneering role in handling the Berlin electricity grid's data: as the first German electricity grid operator, we allow access to our grid data via the open data platform "Netzdaten Berlin" [Grid Data Berlin]. We also make this data available on the Berlin region's own open data platform.

The energy transition in focus

Together with the WindNODE consortium, we have applied to the Federal Ministry of Economics [Bundeswirtschaftsministerium] for funds from the SINTEG subsidy programme for the digitisation of the energy industry. Together with technology and industry partners from northeast Germany, we want to drive forward the energy transition, to create a region with one of the world's highest proportions of renewable energy. We want to show how, using a range of system-stabilising measures and new, IT-supported control systems, renewable energies can be incorporated securely into the transmission and distribution grids, even when their energy consumption is at 100% plus. In northern Germany, as the major load sink in the region, Berlin plays a prominent role in this system. The incumbent mayor of Berlin is supporting our application.

Zusammenarbeit für die
Smart City Berlin

Berlin befindet sich auf dem Weg, eine der führenden Smart-City-Metropolen zu werden. In allen Bereichen des städtischen Lebens hat dieser Transformationsprozess bereits begonnen. Er wird sich zunehmend ausweiten und beschleunigen.

Stromnetz Berlin unterstützt das Land und seine Bewohner auf vielfältige Art und Weise auf diesem Weg, um die ambitionierten Ziele wie ein klimaneutrales Berlin oder eine nachhaltige Erhöhung der Lebensqualität aller Bürger zu erreichen. Die Smart City benötigt Offenheit, Partizipation und Vernetzung. Dabei werden intelligente Infrastrukturen und insbesondere das Smart Grid (intelligentes Stromnetz) das technische Fundament bilden - als vernetztes Betriebssystem wird es zum Rückgrat und Katalysator der Energiewende.

Zukunftsweisende Techniken

Moderne Steuerungsmechanismen wie beispielsweise der gemeinsam mit regionalen Partnern entwickelte StromPager ebnen den Weg zur „Smart City“. Mit dem StromPager liegt eine intelligente Steuerungslösung zum Last- und Erzeugungsmanagement vor. Der Standard ist öffentlich und unentgeltlich zugänglich (Open Source). Er wird helfen, Geschäftsmodelle unterschiedlichster Akteure auch technisch zu implementieren, z. B. eine effiziente Steuerung von Wärmepumpen in Abhängigkeit von verfügbarem erneuerbaren Strom. Diese neu entwickelte Lösung ist einmalig in der Branche und Vorreiter auf dem Gebiet der funkbasierten Steuerungstechnik. Deshalb wurde die Technologie Dezember 2014 mit dem Innovationspreis Berlin Brandenburg ausgezeichnet.

Wir nehmen eine Pionierrolle im Umgang mit den Daten des Berliner Stromnetzes ein: Als erster deutscher Stromnetzbetreiber garantieren wir einen Zugang zu unseren Netzdaten über die Open-Data-Plattform "Netzdaten Berlin". Wir stellen diese Daten auch auf der Open-Data-Plattform des Landes Berlin zur Verfügung.

Im Fokus der Energiewende 

Mit dem Konsortium WindNODE haben wir uns beim Bundeswirtschaftsministerium um Fördermittel aus dem SINTEG-Förderprogramm zur Digitalisierung der Energiewirtschaft beworben. Zusammen mit Technologie- und Industriepartnern aus Nordostdeutschland wollen wir für eine Region mit einem der weltweit höchsten Anteile an erneuerbaren Energien die Energiewende weiter voranbringen. Wir wollen zeigen, wie aus einer Vielzahl von systemstabilisierenden Maßnahmen und neuen, IT-gestützten Steuerungssystemen erneuerbare Energien auch dann sicher in die Übertragungs- und Verteilnetze aufgenommen werden können, wenn ihr Anteil am Stromverbrauch bei 100 % und mehr liegt. Berlin spielt in diesem System in Nordostdeutschland als große Lastsenke eine herausragende Rolle. Der Regierende Bürgermeister von Berlin unterstützt unsere Bewerbung.