The Strombär explains Berlin's energy grid

Since January 2015, Berlin has had a new landmark: the Strombärs. These are interactive information sources for Berlin residents and all visitors to the capital, shaped like the famous Berlin buddy bears. Set up by us, the roughly 2 m high statue informs passers-by about Berlin's energy grid and important energy-related topics.
Strombär at the Elefantentor
In front of the Elefantentor

Visitors can see Berlin's high voltage grid on the body of the famous Berlin buddy bears, studded with elaborate LED technology. The mini integrated lamps depict the flow of energy into the grid. If a passer-by steps onto the bear's platform, the energy flow changes direction. In the evenings, the Strombär is a particularly beautiful way of showing what really matters to us: Berlin.

The information column can be used to call up current energy data on the capital, partially in real time. This lets a visitor follow live information on how much energy Berlin requires at that moment, how much is being generated in the city right then and how much is being imported from the transmission grid. With the help of visual examples, passers-by can get an impression of the size and complexity of Berlin's energy grid. Did you know, for example, that the cables and wiring which make up the capital's grid weigh a total of around 100,000 tonnes - as much as 50,000 elephants?

The Strombär shows the energy flow

Energy efficiency is a recurring topic of public discussion, but it is often seen as abstract and hard to understand. The aim of the Strombärs is therefore to make the complicated world of energy supply more accessible. In our view, transparency about the origins and consumption of energy is the first step towards more conscious energy usage.

Right across the city

In order to give as many people as possible the opportunity to find out more about exciting energy-related topics, the bear is not installed in a fixed place, but rather is on a journey through the capital. He is gradually spending time in a variety of popular locations across the urban area.

His locations:

  • Budapester Strasse (in front of the Elefantentor to the Zoologischen Gartens) - May - August 2015
  • Dorothea-Schlegel-Platz (at Friedrichstrasse station)
  • Washingtonplatz (outside the central station).

All downloads are available in German language only.

Der Strombär erklärt das Berliner Stromnetz

Seit Januar 2015 hat Berlin ein neues Wahrzeichen: den Strombären. Dabei handelt es sich um eine interaktive Informationsquelle in Gestalt des berühmten Berliner Buddy Bären für die Berlinerinnen und Berliner, sowie alle Besucherinnen und Besucher der Hauptstadt. Von uns aufgestellt informiert die rund 2 m große Statue die Passanten über das Berliner Stromnetz und wichtige Energiethemen.
Strombär am Elefantentor
Vor dem Elefantentor

Auf dem mit aufwendiger LED-Technik versehenen Körper des bekannten Berliner Buddy Bären können die Besucher das Berliner Hochspannungsnetz entdecken. Die integrierten Lämpchen machen den Stromfluss im Netz sichtbar. Betritt ein Passant die Plattform des Bären verändert der Stromfluss seine Richtung. Vor allem in den Abendstunden zeigt der Strombär so besonders schön, wofür unser Herz schlägt: Berlin.

Über die Informationsstele können aktuelle Energiedaten der Spreemetropole abgerufen werden, teilweise in Echtzeit. Ein Besucher kann so live mitverfolgen wieviel Strom Berlin in diesem Moment benötigt, wieviel davon gerade in der Stadt erzeugt und aus dem Übertragungsnetz importiert wird. Mit Hilfe anschaulicher Beispiele gewinnen die Passanten einen Eindruck von der Größe und Komplexität des Berliner Stromnetzes. Wussten Sie beispielsweise, dass die gesamten Kabel und Leitungen des Hauptstadtnetzes zusammen rund 100.000 Tonnen und damit in etwa so viel wie 50.000 Elefanten wiegen?

Der Strombär zeigt den Stromfluss

Das Thema Energieeffizienz ist in der öffentlichen Diskussion zwar präsent, wird jedoch häufig als abstrakt und schwer verständlich wahrgenommen. Ziel des Strombären ist es daher, die komplizierte Welt der Energieversorgung begreifbar zu machen. Transparenz über Herkunft und Verbrauch des Stroms sind unseres Erachtens die ersten Schritte zu bewussterer Energienutzung.

Quer durch die Stadt

Um möglichst vielen Menschen die Gelegenheit zu geben, sich über die spannenden Energiethemen zu informieren, ist der Bär nicht fest an einem Platz installiert, sondern befindet sich auf einer Reise durch die Hauptstadt. Nach und nach verweilt er an verschiedenen stark frequentierten Orten im Stadtgebiet.

Seine Standorte:

  • Budapester Straße (vor dem Elefantentor des Zoologischen Gartens) - Mai - August 2015 
  • Dorothea-Schlegel-Platz (am Bahnhof Friedrichstraße)
  • Washingtonplatz (am Hauptbahnhof).